E-WeREST member
an image
an image
an image
an image
an image
an image
an image
Contact Info
an image
Helsinki, Finland

The 2nd conference on Smart Spaces
ruSMART 2009

September 15, 2009. St.-Petersburg, Russia


After conference links:

Call for papers is available here

Proceedings are published in Springer LNCS 5764

Program is available here

About the Conference

Recent advances in the field of wireless networks have moved them beyond their traditional areas of application to a much broader scope. They form a space where users can access a number of wireless technologies to interact with various services. Similarly, existent and future services form a space providing an unlimited set of possibilities ranging from browsing to interactive video conversations. All these layers form a smart environment that can harmonize a number of technologies at each architectural layer to provide the best user experience.

This conference will explore and explain the scope and challenges of smart spaces. In this regard, the conference aims to bring together research professionals from diverse fields including but not limited to wireless communication, ubiquitous networks, software development, multimedia, services, and business in both academia and industry.

The 2nd Conference on Smart Spaces ruSMART 2009 will take place on September 15, 2009. It will be co-located with the 9th International Conference Next Generation Wired/Wireless Networking NEW2AN 2009.

The ruSMART 2009 will be held in St. Petersburg, Russia - the meeting point of East and West. Through its stunning architecture and wonderful art galleries and museums, among a number of other attractions, the wealth of history of East and West can be seen and felt in this beautiful city.

Important dates

Paper registration and submission: April 21, 2009 April 28, 2009, 11:59PM CET via EDAS
Notification of acceptance: May 26 June 08, 2009
Camera ready version: June 09 June 16, 2009
Conference dates: September 15, 2009

Executive Technical Program Committee

Sergey Boldyrev, Principal Scientist, Nokia Research Center, Helsinki, Finland
Nikolai Nefedov, Principal Scientist, Nokia Research Center, Zurich, Switzerland
Ian Oliver, Principal Architect Privacy and Policy Systems, Nokia Research Center, Helsinki, Finland
Alexander Smirnov, Head of laboratory, SPIIRAS, St.-Petersburg, Russia
Vladimir Gorodetsky, Head of laboratory, SPIIRAS, St.-Petersburg, Russia
Michael Lawo, Professor, Center for Computing Technologies (TZI), University of Bremen, Germany
Michael Smirnov, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany
Dieter Uckelmann, LogDynamics Lab, University of Bremen, Germany
Cornel Klein, Program Manager, Siemens Corporate Technology, Germany
Maxim Osipov, Siemens CT, Embedded Linux, Russia

Technical Program Committee

Juha Laurila, Nokia Research Center, Switzerland
Sergey Balandin, Nokia Research Center, Finland
Alexey Dudkov, University of Turku, Finland
Didem Gozupek, Bogazici University, Turkey
Kim Geunhyung, Dong Eui University, R. Korea
Reto Krummenacher, STI Innsbruck, Austria
Prem Jayaraman, Monash University, Australia
Michel Banatre, IRISA, France
Sergei Bogomolov, LGERP R&D Lab, Russia
Gianpaolo Cugola, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Dimitri Konstantas, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Markus Taumberger, VTT, Finland
Bilhanan Silverajan, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Aaron J. Quigley, University College Dublin, Ireland
Pedro Merino, University of Malaga, Spain
Victor Govindaswamy, Texas A&M University, USA